Waving Goodbye to Winter Cushioning (aka. excess weight)

I have been less than happy with my body shape and current weight of late. I’m sure many of you know the feeling. Winter comfort food and the incredibly cold and frosty days mean delicious and warm food choices with over friendly calories, which have made their way straight to my stomach, thighs and hips…and yes arms too…oh who am I kidding – you can quite clearly see my face being a bit cheekier.

I have tried dieting, made goals, claimed that I was going to start exercising more often in the past and yes you guessed it – I failed miserably at it. Why? I really don’t know. Perhaps it’s got something to do with motivation, time and a number of other factors, but I feel like all of these are just lame excuses.

Is this post boring you yet? I hope not because I really want to get some input from you guys about what’s worked for you, what hasn’t and what motivates you to get into shape?

Needless to say, I haven’t given up yet. I’ll put up before and after pictures when I’m brave enough and when I feel like I’ve achieved a body image I’m happy with.

With New Zealand Fashion Week coming up in September, I’m hoping to get into shape before then. I don’t want to go out shopping for snazzy outfits that are not going to look anything short of amazing. So, come Wednesday morning – I am going to slap myself awake and go to boot-camp. I’ll keep you posted with food choices, dietary changes and exercise regimes…I’m determined that this time it’s going to be a sticking point and an actual lifestyle change.

I’ve actually been really good with my food choices over the weekend up to today – so I’m quite determined to stick to it (this time).

Can’t wait to let you guys know how the first gruelling session goes!

XO

CMWB

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Waving Goodbye to Winter Cushioning (aka. excess weight)

  1. What has worked for me is to not to go on a diet, and don’t exercise because you want to lose weight. A diet is… well.. a diet – sooner or later, you’ll get off it again, and you’re body craves to get it back in balance – and that could actually make you gain more weight. I’ve found that the best motivation for exercising is not to think “lose weight”, but instead “healthy lifestyle” in mind. Exercise makes you less tired, and just feel good about yourself in general. Don’t exercise too long or too often if it discourages you – start off slowly. Maybe certain classes at the gym will help you? I used to attend classes in my home country (I moved abroad a while ago), and there was a fee if I didn’t turn up. That made me force myself to go to the gym. And once I was there – I feel great and proud of myself. And don’t be too harsh on yourself food-wise. Just be aware of what you eat. Treats once in a while is ok as long as you are active. Hope this helped just a little bit. And good luck with it πŸ˜‰

    • Thats great advice!! πŸ™‚ you are right… its about lifestyle choices rather than a diet as such. Haha keep posted….I think I am going to love feeling healthy and looking great πŸ™‚ x

  2. Hi! I’ve just started following you based on this most recent post. I’m sorry you’re feeling less than happy, but in a way it’s kind of a comfort to know I’m not the only one feeling less than pleased with myself!

    I’ve not really dieted before, but I have been doing 2 sessions with a personal trainer at the gym which weight aside, has made me feel much stronger and energetic than usual.

    Focusing on the weight aspect, I’ve been married for about a year and a half now, and have had the shock of my life looking at recent pictures of myself (including some of the wedding ones) to see how much I have put on in weight over the last couple of years.

    I’m day 2 into Jason Vales 7lbs in 7 days juice detox, and I have to say the only reason I have taken it seriously is based on the number of people who have followed the plan and blogged about it, so I’ve had a really good insight into the pros and cons. I’ve also purchased the book and although it is hard, I already feel better in myself.

    Without committing to buying his book or products, maybe check out his website or Google in the name of the plan and see what other people think? The health benefits are huge, so if there’s any reason to do it, that should be the first and foremost… although dropping a dress size for me is a bonus ;o)

    PS – After I finish the plan I will post a comprehensive review of each day!

    Nahid Aley at http://www.thethingsiloveblog.com

    xx

    • I know right? Thanks so much – I think there are heaps of young women out there who have managed to let a few extra pounds creep up. I think it’s really important to be happy with yourself and have a healthy body image as well. Dieting should be a thing – more like a lifestyle change where you want to be healthier πŸ™‚ It’s really hard to kickstart though – but I’m not touching any exercise plans or weights until my diet is fixed πŸ™‚ So far, so good – I’m heading to bootc camp as well so hopefully this kick starts my healthy lifestyle plan and it reflects in my image and positivity and way of life πŸ™‚ x Good on you for making a head start and trying to change your life. It’s really inspiring watching others making changes for the better πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

