Haircare Review | The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner

BodyShop

I wrote a previous post on The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter so I won’t be touching on that product in detail again in this post. If you are interested in checking it out, take a look at the post here.

I had run out of my normal shampoo/conditioner and needed new ones, so I decided that since the Rainforest Hair Butter was amazing, maybe if I used the shampoo and conditioner then my hair would look and feel even more healthier. Stands to reason right? Anyways, I dragged my husband to The Body Shop and purchased my haircare (including a small hair butter) to try out.

I was actually really excited to give the Shampoo and Conditioner a go. The products themselves are cruelty free, have no silicones, sulphates, parabens or colourants and have key ingredients like pracaxi oil, manketti nut oil and Community Trade honey and sugar.

Now being a moisturising shampoo and conditioner, the products are geared towards people with dry hair. My flaky scalp and excessively dry and damaged locks (thanks to my incessant heat styling) definitely need some all natural TLC, so this range seemed as good as any. And for the price, well lets just say my expectations were already pretty high.

Bodyshop

The texture of the shampoo is quite thick, although it isn’t sticky at all, and the conditioner is just perfect. The smell, like I mentioned before is not pleasant to begin with, but it has grown on me and now reminds me of the fresh outdoors. Go figure. I’ve never even been to a rainforest. But I am sure this is exactly what it would smell like. I really like the packaging too, it’s definitely very “rainforest” themed with the organic green and yellow colours.

Neither product lathers up too much, which is generally what you would expect as it doesn’t have sulphates, silicones and all that other non wholesome chemical stuff.

After the first wash I was naturally thrilled. The scent of the shampoo/conditioner was not overly much on my hair and it was putting me in a good mood already. Win right? Sadly no. When I went to dry my hair the roots were overly oily looking and my hair felt a bit heavy and weighted. I was so disappointed. But wait, stay with me here – we are going somewhere good with this – it’s by no means a negative review. It’s just my first experience with the product.

Anyways, I was determined to love the shampoo and conditioner. I mean it had to work. The hair butter was amazing. There was no question in my mind as to the shampoo and conditioner being just as amazing. So I stuck with it. I reasoned that my hair was just adjusting to the new products and the fact that it was a completely different type of shampoo (no bad chemicals wise) means that it just needed time to work its magic.

I have never made a better decision in my life (see, I told you to stick with me).

After the third wash, my hair was more manageable, lighter, cleaner, shinier and healthier. And of course, I forgot to mention soft. Really soft. Now imagine, this shampoo and conditioner coupled with that decadent hair butter? You now have hair that resembles the softness of what I imagine clouds would feel like. Yes, potentially too soft, but that would be why I now have to sparingly use the hair butter only once or twice a week.

Either way, this product line is a winner. So if you were thinking of trying it out, maybe get some samples first to make sure it works to perfection (eventually) and remember that too much of a good thing is often…well not. So use the products sparingly – not too much. It does not lather up like normal shampoos so definitely don’t put a whole heap into your hands. A little goes a long way.

My ultimate favourite in haircare so far this year. And the best hair butter ever. Like seriously. Ever. If you have not tried this range, then I highly recommend it to you. I also apologise for this excessively long post – but I did want to give you some background and a complete picture of the product.

Please remember to subscribe to my blog and comment on your favourite haircare products or your impressions of the Rainforest Moisture range in the comments below.

XO
CMWB

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

