Skincare Review|Dermalogica Concealing Spot Treatment

I’ve been using Dermalogica skincare for a few years now and it’s honestly the best thing that’s ever happened to my skin. So naturally, when the opportunity to try out their concealing spot treatment presented itself, I jumped at the chance.

Dermalogica is known for their outstanding skincare and I was expecting some awesome results from this little tube, promising an easy fix to the lone (sometimes overly large and obvious) blemishes.

The product itself comes in a 10mL tube, which is easy enough to store in your beauty bag or just throw into your handbag for on the go application.

tube

The active ingredient in this little trooper is Sulfur, which is something new to me. I would have expected something like benzoyl peroxide. Anyways, it is a topical treatment and I was expecting it to blend easily into the skin. Also you should note that this product is not the most pleasant smelling – I’m going to assume that’s courtesy of the sulfur in there.

Did it work? It did dry out the lone breakout I had, but unfortunately I just could not get a decent image to do a before and after shot. In short, yes it did.

As per the title though, this is a concealing spot treatment, which means that it’s tinted. I don’t really think the tint is a win for the product though because it isn’t likely to suit all skin tones, and in my case particularly, it didn’t.

tinted product

tinted product

The texture of the product is also quite hard to use. The directions say to dab a spot onto the blemish and leave for five minutes, then to blend the product in. The only problem with that is the texture is too stiff and dry to work into the skin. So if your skin was dry/flaky around the blemish already, this is not going to do you any favours.

dry texture of the product makes it difficult to blend it. Not ideal for dry skin.

dry texture of the product makes it difficult to blend it. Not ideal for dry skin.

I only used this at home, because it is an effective treatment (i.e. it does what it says it does), but I wouldn’t wear it around outside the house, or if I had guests over.

You can get this product from Life Pharmacy in Sylvia Park, or online at:
http://www.dermalogica.co.nz/shop-online/medibac/110902 for only $54.00.

I’m sure there are far more stockists, but these ones off the top of my head are where I usually go to get my Dermalogica products.

Rating this product, I’d give it a 3.5/5 – only because I would have liked for it to blend in with my skin tone better and not be so dry.

It does really help to quickly clear out and dry blemishes though, so I would recommend it.

You can also find this post on nzgirl:
http://www.nzgirl.co.nz/buy/tried-tested-dermalogica-concealing-spot-treatment/

As always, please don’t forget to follow me on social media and keep in touch. Subscribe before you leave and leave a comment below if you have any questions or opinions on this product.

XO
Kershia

*Please note that this product was provided as a gift for review by NZGirl. This is no way affected the outcome of the review, or biased this review in any way. This is not a sponsored post and I was not obligated to write about the product. All views and opinions in this post are my own. 

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Skincare Review|Dermalogica Concealing Spot Treatment

  1. Pingback: Dermalogica’s top 6 summer skin tips | Vitality

Leave a Reply

