Lifestyle| McHealthy with McDonalds?

With Christmas literally just around the corner, us gals that have not bothered with the fad diets and getting into shape pre Christmas will likely be attempting to make New Years Resolutions which include Health & Fitness.

Kudos to you lovely ladies who managed to beat the binge and can now reap the benefits by sporting that TO-DIE for bikini that I’ve been eyeing for a while now 😉

I think I spend more time imagining myself working out and eating crazy healthy but alas I have a serious addiction to fat induced food which to my peril is likely clogging my arteries and leading me into an early grave. If only imagination was a magic eraser to rid myself of the excesses.

It’s ridiculously easy to blame my terrible fast food addiction (primarily to burgers and fries…and oh yeah KFC) on my lack of time and oh so busy lifestyle…and as cliche as that excuse is, it’s also true. Some days I have zero energy left to carry on, let alone cook or exercise for that matter.

So when I got the email from NZGirl saying I’d been selected to review and taste test the new menu from McDonalds I was pretty excited, especially because I didn’t have to stress about dinner for at least one night.

Enter McDonalds with their brand new healthy menu options. They are calling it the “Real Choices” menu and you have the following options:

Wraps ($8.90):

  • Chicken & Spicy Mayo McWrap
  • Chicken & Aioli McWrap
  • Chickn & Honey Soy McWrap

Salads($9.90):

  • Warm Chicken Salad
  • Crunchy Noodle Chicken Salad

20131215_175217_edit0 (1)

You can choose from four dressing options for your salad: sweet sesame soy, zesty portuguese, balsamic and italian and your chicken is served either crispy or seared.

Needless to say I took my hubby out to dinner at McDonalds to try out the Real Choices menu and being a spicy sort of girl I chose the Chicken Spicy Mayo McWrap and the Warm Chicken Salad (both crispy chicken). The lady serving us didn’t ask us what dressing we wanted on the salad though but I didn’t make a fuss about it – we just got the default sweet sesame soy dressing.

20131215_175458_edit0

Verdict? Loved the McWrap & the salad both. I didn’t love the sweet sesame soy dressing though – next time I’d probably opt for balsamic.

I really was expecting smaller portions though so was really surprised to see that they were decent sized portions which means that you can eat a full on salad or wrap and not feel the pangs of hunger fifteen minutes later.

So, the new real choices menu stands up to the taste test, but how healthy is it when you look at the nutritional value?

Grilled Chicken & Spicy Mayo
Fat, total (g) – 38.0
Saturated Fat (g) – 5.8
Carbohydrate (g) -49.6
Sugars (g) – 4.4

Warm Chicken Salad with Sweet Sesame Soy Dressing
Fat, total (g) – 10.3 (salad) + 14.3 (dressing) = 24.6
Saturated Fat (g) – 1.5 (salad) + 3.6 (dressing) = 5.1
Carbohydrate (g) -18.5 (salad) + 23.9 (dressing) = 42.4
Sugars (g) – 7.6 (salad) + 23.7 (dressing) = 31.3

Now whilst this menu looks great and is supposedly healthy, bear in mind that if you are planning to get this on the go as a “healthier” option and if you were planning to lose weight the following other food from McDonalds has less fat content and saturated fat than either of the two option I chose above. I’ve outlined a couple examples below. Remember that the wrap and salad are significantly larger portions though.

Cheeseburger:
Fat, total (g) -11.6
Saturated Fat (g) – 5.6

McChicken:
Fat, total (g) -17.1
Saturated Fat (g) – 3.3

You can check out the nutritional values and compare these for the Real Choices menu right here.

Overall, yes I will certainly be having the wrap and salad again because they really do taste great and are great hunger busters.

XO

20131130-170913.jpg

Leave a Reply

