Revolutionary Resolutions

Hi Everyone,

The hubby and I are now fresh off the airplane (albeit jetlagged) from our long awaited trip to beautiful and sunny South Africa.

I’ll do another post on our trip with some pics and of course a full haul post too. I just need some time to gather my thoughts and of course get the photographs off the camera.

So we are officially in 2014 and the New Years Resolution posts are of course in full swing. This year promises to be more exciting and full on and I personally do think it’s important to set personal goals for the year.

Hold up your head! You were not made for failure, you were made for victory. Go forward with a joyful confidence.
– George Eliot

I think the key to setting realistic, practical and achievable goals is to actually make a solid plan on paper to achieve them. Make it a step wise process for each goal, create mini goals and slowly revolutionise yourself to be the BEST you that you can be. Also make your goals specific – a general/vague goal is not as helpful as something which is very specific. For example one of my goals is to lose weight – so I’ve written it down and made a plan around this:

  • Lose 7-10 kg and get in shape. (Be Healthier: Eat Healthier, Avoid fast food and processed foods, Exercise 3x times a week and Make Healthier Choices)

I think I’ve failed dismally in the past with resolutions etc. because my focus was far too much on “reinventing” myself, fitting into specified moulds and seeing myself through the eyes of other people. I think this is a huge mistake and I have spent some time evaluating what is important to me and how much I’ve lost sight of what would make me happy, what I want to achieve, where I’m going and where I want to be. Most importantly, the kind of person I want to be. So this year is a dedication to soul searching rather than reinvention of myself.

So far I’ve done quite well (early days yet) with writing down my resolutions and making a plan to start achieving them. I also have a number of blogging milestones and goals I’ve like to achieve so I’m quite excited about implementing my plans.

Apart from setting goals I’ve also revolutionised my resolutions by adding a “Wish List”. For each milestone I achieve, I plan to purchase and treat myself to something from my wish list as an incentive.

Do you think that setting New Years Resolutions is a good idea and do you do them and stick to them?

Here’s to 2014 and wishing all my fabulous readers a wonderful and exciting start to the New Year. Embrace it with huge dreams, massive ambition and bucket loads of love, happiness, joy and hope!

XO

20131130-170913.jpg

2 thoughts on “Revolutionary Resolutions

  1. I love the idea of adding a wish list as a reward system! I may have to steal that, I love the idea. I completely agree that realistic goals are important – otherwise you can feel like giving up too quickly which is such a bad thing!

    All the best for your goals, and for 2014!
    Caitlin

    • Hi Caitlin thank you for the comment 🙂 hope you do well and exceed your goals as well… knowing theres a pleasant reward at the end of all the hard work is so worth it… plus the happiness and satisfaction in achievement 🙂 x happy 2014

Leave a Reply

